About me

About me

​   I have been living in an international environment since I was young, having lived for many years in different countries. I studied Italian and Spanish from the very first steps, with the English language arriving later. I had the opportunity to live in the culture of each language I work with, which has given me the required background to understand the way of thinking and idiosyncrasy of different cultures of the world. I continued and completed my studies in Italy, where I live.
   I have a Master of Arts, Italian studies degree, granted from the Università degli Studi di Genova; and a post degree Master I Level in Juridical Specialized Translations, granted in the same university. I still try to keep myself updated in translations and teaching, in order to continue to work more professionally.
   I started working in the tourism field around 1994, gradually involved over the years in translations in sports, medical, legal and culinary, becoming more and more interested in linguistics.
   I started working teaching about the same time, I worked as private tutor for children of all school levels in humanistic courses, obtaining every time excellent results. Later on, I began teaching Italian as a Second Language, specializing it through academic courses. I am willing to online lessons as well, in this way I can reach places and students directly in their homes, anywhere in the world.

 

-----------------------------------

RossLanguageServices is proud to partner with Lo Schiavo Genealogica on providing a special Italian language class.

If you are pursuing Italian citizenship through marriage, there is a relatively new requirement that you must have a minimum of a B1 Level Certificate for the Italian language. This is an intermediate level of understanding and speaking the language. Proof will be required along with testing. The thinking behind the requirement is that you should have basic linguistic skills if you are going to live there. Lo Schiavo Genealogica has launched a service to assist clients in meeting that requirement!

Melanie is the owner and principal researcher of Lo Schiavo Genealogica, LLC. She is an experienced professional genealogist specializing in Italian genealogy and reclaiming Italian citizenship via jure sanguinis. Learn more at https://www.italyancestry.com/new-service-italian-language-classes/.


Gallery